## CALL FOR PAPERS

## 5th International Conference on Network and System Security (NSS 2011)

Milan, Italy – September 6-8, 2011 Technically co-sponsored by IEEE Systems Council

NSS is an annual international conference covering research in network and system security. The 5th International Conference on Network and System Security (NSS 2011) will be held in Milan, Italy. The conference seeks submissions from academia, industry, and government presenting novel research on all theoretical and practical aspects of network security, privacy, applications security, and system security. Papers describing case studies, implementation experiences, and lessons learned are also encouraged. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Active Defense Systems Hardware Security Security in P2P systems

Adaptive Defense Systems Identity Management Security in Cloud and Grid Systems

Security in E-Commerce Analysis, Benchmark of Security Systems Intelligent Defense Systems

Authentication Insider Threats Security in Pervasive/Ubiquitous Computing

Security and Privacy in Smart Grid Biometric Security Intellectual Property Rights Protection Security and Privacy in Wireless Networks Complex Systems Security Internet and Network Forensics Secure Mobile Agents and Mobile Code Database and System Security Intrusion Detection and Prevention

**Data Protection** Key Distribution and Management Security Policy Security Protocols Data/System Integrity Large-scale Attacks and Defense

Security Simulation and Tools Distributed Access Control Malware Distributed Attack Systems Network Resiliency Security Theory and Tools

Denial-of-Service Network Security Standards and Assurance Methods

Electronic Communication Privacy RFID Security and Privacy Trusted Computing High Performance Network Virtualization Security Architectures Trust Management High Performance Security Systems Security for Critical Infrastructures World Wide Web Security

Paper submissions. Submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings. Submissions should be at most 8 pages including the bibliography and well-marked appendices, and should follow the IEEE 8.5" x 11" Two-Column Format. Submissions are to be made to the submission web site at https://www.easychair.org/account/signin.cgi?conf=nss2011. Only pdf files will be accepted. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. Papers must be received by the deadline of May 24, 2011 (11:59 p.m. Samoa time). Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their papers will be presented at the conference. Accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings and in the IEEE digital library. Outstanding papers will be invited for possible publication in high quality international journals.

General Chair **Program Co-Chairs Program Chair** 

Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati Pierangela Samarati Jiankun Hu Sara Foresti Univ. degli Studi di Milano, Italy Univ. degli Studi di Milano, Italy UNSW@ADFA, Australia Univ. degli Studi di Milano, Italy

Workshop Chair Important dates

Yang Xiang Paper submission due: May 24, 2011 July 11, 2011 Deakin University, Australia Notification to authors:

July 21, 2011 Camera ready due:

## **Program Committee**

Rafael Accorsi, University of Freiburg, Germany

Eric Alata, LAAS-CNRS, France

Claudio Agostino Ardagna, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy

Vijay Atluri, Rutgers University, USA

Marina Blanton, University of Notre Dame, USA Carlo Blundo, Università degli Studi di Salerno, Italy Marco Casassa Mont, Hewlett-Packard Labs, UK

David Chadwick, University of Kent, UK

Jorge Cuellar, Siemens Corporate Technology, Germany

Frédéric Cuppens, TELECOM Bretagne, France Anupam Datta, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati, Univ. degli Studi di Milano, Italy

Roberto Di Pietro, Università di Roma Tre, Italy Wenliang Du, Syracuse University, USA

Wu-Chang Feng, Portland State University, USA

Simone Fisher-Huebner, Karlstad University, Sweden Philip Fong, University of Calgary, Canada

Keith Frikken, Miami University, USA Steven Furnell, University of Plymouth, UK

Alban Gabillon, University of Polynésie Française, French Polynesia

Joaquin Garcia-Alfaro, TELECOM Bretagne, France  $\label{eq:continuous} \textit{Dieter Gollmann}, \, \text{Hamburg University of Technology}, \, \text{Germany}$ 

Juan Gonzalez Nieto, Queensland University of Technology, Australia Yong Guan, Iowa State University, USA

Qiong Huang, South China Agricultural University, China Xinyi Huang, Institute for InfoComm Research, Singapore

Michael Huth, Imperial College London, UK Sushil Jajodia, George Mason University, USA Audun Josang, University of Oslo, Norway Sokratis Katsikas, University of Piraeus, Greece

Stefan Katzenbeisser, TU Darmstadt, Germany Muhammad Khurram Khan, King Saud Univ., Saudi Arabia

Shinsaku Kiyomoto, KDDI R&D Lab., Japan Michiharu Kudo, IBM Tokyo Research Lab, Japan Costas Lambrinoudakis, University of Piraeus, Greece Bo Lang, Beihang University, China

Adam J. Lee, University of Pittsburgh, USA

Laurent Lefevre, INRIA, France

Yingjiu Li, Singapore Management University, Singapore

Jay Ligatti, University of South Florida, USA Peng Liu, The Pennsylvania State University, USA

Javier Lopez, University of Malaga, Spain

Wenjing Lou, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA

Fabio Martinelli, IIT-CNR, Italy

Carlos Maziero, Pontifical Catholic University, Brasil Chris Mitchell, Royal Holloway, University of London, UK

Eiji Okamoto, University of Tsukuba, Japan

Stefano Paraboschi, Università degli Studi di Bergamo, Italy

Gerardo Pelosi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy Indrakshi Ray, Colorado State University, USA Kui Ren, Illinois Institute of Technology, USA Rodrigo Roman, University of Malaga, Spain

Ahmad-Reza Sadeghi, Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany Damien Sauveron, Université de Limoges/CNRS, France Dharmendra Sharma, University of Canberra, Australia Charalabos Skianis, University of Aegean, Greece

Miguel Soriano, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain

Neeraj Suri, TU Darmstadt, Germany

Willy Susilo, University of Wollongong, Australia

Juan E. Tapiador, University of York, UK

Traian Marius Truta, Northern Kentucky University, USA

Jaideep Vaidya, Rutgers University, USA Michael Waidner, TU Darmstadt, Germany Zhiguo Wan, Tsinghua University, China Lingyu Wang, Concordia University, Canada Matthew Warren, Deakin University, Australia Yang Xiang, Deakin University, Australia

 $Justin\ Zhan,$  Carnegie Mellon University, USA Sencun Zhu, The Pennsylvania State University, USA

 $Zutao\ Zhu,$ Google Inc., USA